your social friends suck.

20 06 2008

By ‘social’ i mean the hundreds of ‘friend’ requests you have accepted.

I was at a Foo Fighters gig about 2 weeks back and the crowd was like my facebook account. Big,friendly and easy to make friends (if you had a spare beer). The link in this seemingly absurd analogy is ‘lots of people in in one place, who aren’t there to see each other’

Foo fighters, Wembley. Try create this feeling with your 600 \'friends\'

Now don’t get me wrong. I think the internet is a swell place to meet and connect. My problem is that as connections become easier to make, their value decreases (as the graph below illustrates).

I’m really interested in how the next evolution of the web (please God let it not be called ‘3.0’) is going to create real tangible, physical experience for users. At the moment 600 facebook friends is just not the same as getting elbowed in the head at a gig.You cant experience it.

Is a handshake worth more than 100 friend requests?


Actions

Information

Leave a comment